Ads! Gain 200 Level Admission to Study Any Course In Any University Of Your Choice Through IJMB/JUPEB. NO JAMB | LOW FEES. Registration In Progress. Call 07063900993 NOW!

Interesting Fact About the Headies Award 2021

Filed in Trends by on June 25, 2021

ADS! Download JAMB CBT Software Now for FREE!

Fact About the Headies Award: The Headies is the biggest award show in Nigeria. We all know that the Nigerian Entertainment Industry is ever-growing with emergence of new talents every year and when it comes to celebrating Nigerian entertainers, the Headies has been consistent.

Interesting Fact About the Headies Award 2021

About The Headies

The Headies (originally called the Hip Hop World Awards) is a music awards show established in 2006 by the Hip Hop World Magazine of Nigeria to recognize outstanding achievements in the Nigerian music industry.

The annual ceremony features performances by established and promising artists. It is broadcast live on HipTV to viewers across Nigeria.

The 1st and 2nd editions of The Headies were held at the Muson Center in Onikan, Lagos State. Between 2010 and 2012, the awards were held at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Victoria Island, Lagos.

Several media personalities in Nigeria have hosted the annual ceremony, including Darey Art Alade, D’banj, Dakore Egbuson, Banky W., Rita Dominic, M.I, Tiwa Savage and Dr SID.

More Details

The image of The Headies was created by Ayo Animashaun, the founder of the awards, and drawn by Matthias Aragbada. The first Headie plaque was done by Jide Adewoye.

It represents the “image and the shout of a young, vibrant individual whose talent can challenge that of renowned local and international artistes combined, but who has almost lost confidence in his abilities in the face of discouraging circumstances presented by the peculiar Nigerian environment.”

In 2008, the plaque was redone in the United Kingdom. It was plated with 21 carat gold. The new plaque is a mixture of resin, copper, steel, marble and gold.

As of 2018, The Headies is composed of 25 categories. Open voting decides majority of the awards’ categories.

However, the Best Recording of the Year, Best Rap Album, Best Vocal Performance (Male), Best Vocal Performance (Female), Lyricist on the Roll, and Best Performer categories are not open to public voting.

Facts about the Headies Award

  1. The Headies was known before as the Hip Hop Awards.
  2. The Hip Hop World Magazine of Nigeria established the Headies in 2006.
  3. The ceremony which takes place yearly features performances by Nigerian artistes.
  4. The 1st and 2nd editions which took place in the year 2006 and 2007 respectively were held at the Muson Center in Onikan, Lagos.
  5. The Headies has been held at Eko Hotel and suites in Victoria Island from 2010 through 2012.
  6. The Headies has been hosted by: Darey Art Alade, Dakore Egbuson, D’banj, M.I, Banky W., Rita Dominic, Tiwa Savage and Dr. SID.
  7. The official website for the headies is
  8. The Headies is powered by the HipTV.
  9. The founder of the Headies Award is Ayo Animashaun.
  10. The Headie image was drawn by Matthias Aragbada and the first headies plague was made by Jide Adewoye.
  11. The Headies Award plaque depicts the image and the shout of a young, vibrant man whose talent can challenge both renowned local and international artistes, but has lost confidence due to the discouraging circumstances he has faced in the Nigerian environment.
  12. The Headie plaque was plated with 21-carat gold, produced in the U.K. and after failed attempts to replicate the same quality locally, the current Headie plague is a mixture of resin, steel, copper, marble and gold.

The following are recipients of the Headies “Hall of Fame” category from 2006 till date:

  1. Kenny Ogungbe, D1 & Dj Jimmy Jatt – 2006
  2. Ben Bruce – 2007
  3. Obi Asika and Olisa – 2008
  4. Phillip Trimnell and DJ Grand Master Lee – 2009
  5. Obafemi Lasode – 2010
  6. Sir Shina Peters – 2011
  7. Femi Kuti – 2012
  8. KWAM 1 – 2013
  9. Sir Victor Uwaifo – 2014
  10. 2Face Idibia – 2015
  11. Laolu Akins – 2016

The following are the list of people who have hosted these prestigious Awards from inception:

  1. Dare Art Alade (2006)
  2. D’Banj and Tana (2007)
  3. Basketmouth and Dakore (2008)
  4. BankyW and Kemi Adetiba (2009)
  5. In 2010, the voiceover called “The Voice of God” was used in replacement of any personality.
  6. Rita Dominic and eLDee (2011)
  7. Omawumi and M.I. (2012)
  8. Tiwa and Dr Sid (2013)
  9. Toke makinwa and Basket mouth (2014)
  10. Kaffy & Bovi (2015)
  11. Falz and Adesuwa Etomi (2016)

Previous winners of the Next Rated Category are:

  1. Asa – 2006
  2. Overdose – 2007
  3. Wande Coal – 2008
  4. Skuki – 2009
  5. Omawumi – 2010
  6. Wizkid – 2011
  7. Davido – 2012
  8. Sean Tizzle – 2013
  9. Patoranking – 2014
  10. Reekado Banks – 2015
  11. Mr. Eazi – 2016.

What’s your take on this? We believe this article was helpful, if yes, don’t hesitate to share this information with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, Whatsapp and Google plus.

CSN Team.

Enter your email address:

Delivered by TMLT NIGERIA

Join Over 3,500 000+ Readers Online Now!



COPYRIGHT WARNING! Contents on this website may not be republished, reproduced, redistributed either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgement. All contents are protected by DMCA.
The content on this site is posted with good intentions. If you own this content & believe your copyright was violated or infringed, make sure you contact us at [[email protected]] to file a complaint and actions will be taken immediately.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: