Ads! Gain 200 Level Admission to Study Any Course In Any University Of Your Choice Through IJMB/JUPEB. NO JAMB | LOW FEES. Registration In Progress. Call 07063900993 NOW!

Nigerian Army Ranks – View Full List of Nigerian Army Ranks Here

Filed in Articles by on June 18, 2021

ADS! Download JAMB CBT Software Now for FREE!

The Military ranks of Nigeria are the military insignia used by the Nigerian Armed Forces. Below is the list of all Nigerian Army Ranks in their respective order. Army ranking consists or subdivided into two parts, the Commissioned and Non-commissioned officers.

Nigerian Army Ranks – View Full List of Nigerian Army Ranks Here

Each service branch of the Nigerian armed forces has an associated symbol with which it is known. The Nigerian Army logo is one symbol that differentiates it from the air force or the navy.

We shall explain the meaning of the eagle, the star sign and the meaning of the Arabic text writing just below the logo.

  • The eagle on the army logo signifies grace and power of the Nigerian army. Just like the way the eagle hovers above and attacks with  precision, that’s how the army strikes Nigeria’s enemies when fighting a war.
  • The symbol of the star represents the unity of Nigeria as one indivisible nation. This could be traced back to 1914, during the amalgamation.
  • The yellow and black colour on the star represents the Southern and Northern Protectorates that formed one Nigeria.
  • The Arabic writing in the Nigerian Army logo when transcribed in English means ‘Victory comes from God alone’.
  • The colour red on the flag stands for threat and enemy elements while the black represents the Nigerian cavalry and troops.

Commissioned Officers (CO):  are the managers, problem solvers, key influencers and planners who lead Enlisted Soldiers in all situations. are responsible for leading and training enlisted.

Non-commissioned Officer (NCO): is a military officer who is given authority through a commissioned officer, but he or she is not technically considered to be in command.

Nigerian Army Ranks for Commissioned Officers

The Nigerian army has 11 ranks for commissioned officers which Field Marshal is the higher rank among and Second Lieutenant is the lowest rank. Beneath is the complete list of NA commissioned officers ranks:

  • Field Marshal – ★★★★★ [5 Stars]
  • General – ★★★★ [4 Stars]
  • Lieutenant General – ★★★ [3 Stars]
  • Major General – ★★ [2 Stars]
  • Brigadier General – ★ [1 Stars]
  • Colonel
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Major
  • Captain
  • Lieutenant
  • Second Lieutenant – [Lowest Rank]

Nigerian Army Ranks For Non-commissioned Officers

There are 8 ranks in the Nigerian Army for non-commissioned officers. They are listed below:

  • Warrant Officer Class I
  • Warrant Officer Class II
  • Staff Sergeant
  • Sergeant
  • Corporal
  • Lance-corporal
  • Private
  • Recruit – [Lowest Rank]

CSN Team

Enter your email address:

Delivered by TMLT NIGERIA

Join Over 3,500 000+ Readers Online Now!



COPYRIGHT WARNING! Contents on this website may not be republished, reproduced, redistributed either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgement. All contents are protected by DMCA.
The content on this site is posted with good intentions. If you own this content & believe your copyright was violated or infringed, make sure you contact us at [[email protected]] to file a complaint and actions will be taken immediately.

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: