Obtain Up To N300,000 Cash In The 2nd 2019 Aspire CBT Contest

ADS! Get Admission into 200 Level and Study any Course in any University of Your Choice. Low Fees | No JAMB UTME. Call 08063692710

Turner Prize History, Regulations and Notable Winners

Filed in Articles by on June 13, 2019

Ads: Total Cure for Diabetes => CLICK HERE - 15 Products Remaining | HURRY NOW!

Turner Prize History, Regulations and Notable Winners

Turner Prize The Turner Prize is named after the English painter J. M. W. Turner (1775-1851) who was an innovative and also a controversial artist in his day, he is now seen as one of the greatest British artists, and also expressed a wish to establish a prize for young artists.

Turner Contemporary is named after the artist for related reasons; their work is inspired by Turner’s innovative and radical approach to art. Turner prize is an annual prize presented to a British visual artist.

Turner Prize

Between the year 1991 and the year 2016, only artists under the age of 50 were eligible (this restriction was canceled for the 2017 award).

Turner prize is one of the best-known prizes for visual arts in the creation.

Every other year, the prize leaves Tate Britain and is then presented at a venue outside London.

This article is all about Turner prize, and as you read on you will get to know lots of things which were unknown.

The Turner Prize

The prize was first awarded in the year 1984. It was founded by a group called the Patrons of New Art under the directorship of Alan Bowness.

They formed it to encourage a wider interest in contemporary art and also assist Tate in acquiring new works.

They felt that Britain should have its own award for visual arts, an equivalent to the Booker Prize.

Turner Prize is also an award given annually to a visual artist born in or based in Great Britain in recognition of an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of his/her works.

The Turner Prize is awarded to a British artist. ‘British’ can mean an artist working primarily in Britain or an artist born in Britain working globally.

The prize focuses on their recent developments in British art rather than a lifetime’s achievement.

Like earlier mentioned that Turner prize is considered the highest honor in the British art world.

Named for English Romantic painter J.M.W. Turner, the prize was established in 1984 by the Patrons of New Art, a group of donors associated with the Tate Gallery who sought to promote new developments in contemporary art.

In its early years, the prize was frequently criticized for its competitive selection process and up to six nominees were announced to a short list before one was chosen as the winner.

Critics also found its selection criteria unfocused. Originally, both up-and-coming and established artists and even art administrators and critics were eligible.

In the year 1991, the annual shortlist was limited to artists only and held to four nominees under age 50, chosen on the strength of an exhibition presented in the previous 12 months.

Recognizing that “up-and-coming” did not necessarily equate with youth, the Turner Prize lifted age limitations in the year 2017.

A five-person jury, chaired by the director of Tate Britain, determines both the shortlist and the winner.

Since its inception, the Turner Prize has captured the vivid interest of the British media and public, for whom the unveiling of the short list often occasions a fierce debate about the artists’ relative merits and sometimes about the very definition of art.

Much of the conversation revolves around a special exhibition of the nominees’ work, held originally at Tate Britain but from 2011 alternating yearly between that space and a gallery outside London.

However, the jurors’ final decision rests not on this work, as is widely believed, but on that for which the artists were originally nominated.

In the 1990s several members of the emerging Young British Artist movement, including Damien Hirst and Tracey Emin, sparked controversy for the provocative, often conceptually driven works they showcased at Tate.

The winner of the Turner Prize announced near the end of the year in a televised ceremony, receives £25,000, with the three other short-listed candidates receiving £5,000 each.

Turner Prize winners are provided in the table.

Notable winners have included Hirst, Gilbert & George, Richard Long, Anish Kapoor, Antony Gormley, Chris Ofili, Steve McQueen, Wolfgang Tillmans, Grayson Perry, and Richard Wright.

Turner Prize winners
1984Malcolm Morley
1985Howard Hodgkin
1986Gilbert & George
1987Richard Deacon
1988Tony Cragg
1989Richard Long
1990(not awarded)
1991Anish Kapoor
1992Grenville Davey
1993Rachel Whiteread
1994Antony Gormley
1995Damien Hirst
1996Douglas Gordon
1997Gillian Wearing
1998Chris Ofili
1999Steve McQueen
2000Wolfgang Tillmans
2001Martin Creed
2002Keith Tyson
2003Grayson Perry
2004Jeremy Deller
2005Simon Starling
2006Tomma Abts
2007Mark Wallinger
2008Mark Leckey
2009Richard Wright
2010Susan Philipsz
2011Martin Boyce
2012Elizabeth Price
2013Laure Prouvost
2014Duncan Campbell
2016Helen Marten
2017Lubaina Himid
2018Charlotte Prodger

These are some of the facts you need to know.

CSN Team

Join Over 500,000+ Readers Online Now.

Total Cure for Diabetes => CLICK HERE. Only 15 Product Remaining - Hurry Now!

Subscribe NOW to Latest GIST from CSN PORTAL in Your EMAIL ADDRESS

Copyright Warning: Contents on this website may not be republished, reproduced, redistributed either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgement. All contents are protected by DMCA.
The content on this site is posted with good intentions. If you own this content & believe your copyright was violated or infringed, make sure you contact us at [[email protected]] to file a complaint and actions will be taken immediately.


Comments are closed.